Photo by Jacek Poremba

Maciej Obara – saxophonist, composer and improviser.

In 2012, Obara took part in the “Take Five Europe” project. There he met Norwegian musicians – double bassist Ole Morten Vagan and percussionist Gard Nilssen, which became the beginning of his international quartet, whose lineup was completed by pianist Dominik Wania. Between 2012 and 2015, the band released three albums in the catalog of the Polish label ForTune (“Live at Manggha”, “Komeda”, “Live in Minsk Mazowiecki” feat. Tom Arthurs).

In early 2017, Maciej Obara received an invitation from the world-renowned producer Manfred Eicher to join the ranks of artists affiliated under the ECM Records label. His first album for this prestigious label was called “Unloved,” and this unique collaboration continued with the 2019 recording “Three Crowns” and with the newest 2023 album titled “Frozen Silence.”

The Polish saxophonist collaborates with top Scandinavian musicians as part of the Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra. Obara has composed a concerto for saxophone, piano and AUKSO orchestra featuring Dominik Wani orchestrated by Nikola Kolodziejczyk, as well as music for a trio with prominent French bass clarinetist Louis Sclavis for Jazztopad festival. Maciej Obara also collaborated with Tomasz Stanko.


Frozen Silence

Maciej Obara Quartet
ECM 08.09.2023

Three Crowns

Maciej Obara Quartet
ECM 25.09.2019


Maciej Obara Quartet
ECM 03.11.2017

As a leader

Obara International
Live in Minsk Mazowiecki
For Tune, 2015

Obara International
Live at Manggha
For Tune, 2013

Obara International
For Tune, 2012

Maciej Obara Quartet

MaMuGe – Obara / Lindberg / Sorgen
Ars Cameralis, 2010

Maciej Obara Special Quartet
Ars Cameralis, 2010

Maciej Obara Trio
I can do it
Jaz Zabrze, 2008

Maciej Obara Trio
Message from Ohayo
Bielska Zadymka Jazzowa 2007

As a sideman

Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra
We Jazz Records, 2023

Petter Eldh Koma Saxo
Post Koma
We Jazz Records, 2023

Gard Nilssen’s Super Sonic Orchestra
If You Listen Carefully The Music Is Yours
Odin Records, 2020

Michał Jaros
Floating Bridges
Multikulti Project, 2018

Magnolia Acoustic quartet
For Tune, 2013

Michał Wróblewski
Jazz i orkiestra
Fonografika, 2013

Piotr Damasiewicz
Power of the Horns
Ars Cameralis, 2012

Piotr Damasiewicz
Ars Cameralis, 2011

Fonda/Stevens Group
Live in Hipnoza
Not Two Records, 2009

Tomasz Stańko
Muzyka do spektaklu “Terminal 7”

Maciek Grzywacz Quartet
Fourth dimension


Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra
Enter Enea Festival Poznan / PL